I Might Puke

March 14, 2011 § 1 Comment

They call it the roller coaster of life, and right now, I might puke. Up and down, up and down, over, around, upside-down, sky, land, sky, land, sky, land. Just when one area of your life is finding its footing, another goes completely bananas. It swoops us up, rocketing us full speed to a place we never saw coming.

Dude… life IS a roller coaster, and I get motion sickness so bad. I’m nauseous in traffic. If there’s anything I have learned from my own issues is to not plan your future until you know what’s actually happening. Every maybe is a no until it’s a yes, and most of the time it’s a blessing in disguise. If there were no problems there would be no opportunities. Sit tight, buckle up, keep hands and arms inside the car at all times, and I’m sure you’ll have a great ride.

If you’ve got a riding buddy, even better! If there’s a best friend/lover/life mate holding hands with you, there is nothing to be afraid of. You might get an unflattering picture on the way down the big hill, but sometimes the fun part is looking back and laughing.

I was raised Catholic, I need some sort of confession: I am very embarrassed about my behavior the past few months as my anxiety over unemployment sent me into one of the darkest places I have ever experienced. I spent a lot of time being afraid, hours, days, I can’t get back. However, I have learned a valuable lesson: Happiness feels so fucking good.

Choose to be happy. Choose to enjoy the stomach drop on the way down, choose to laugh at your fright, choose to let yourself smile as your vision blurs and your eyes water. Choose to white knuckle the hand of your riding buddy, they are just as scared as you. You’re moving so fast you have to talk yourself into savoring the experience. It really does go by so fast. But chances are, when the ride is over, you are going to want to get back in line to do it all again.

***Thank you, readers, for allowing me the pleasure of a fan base, all 62 of you. I may not always spell correctly or catch every typo, but it is so nice to be heard. Click here for the blog post behind the older couple pictured, so sweet.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to I Might Puke

  • Dane says:

    Life feels like the tea cup ride at Disneyland. It’s a dizzy ride. One that leaves you with butterflies in your stomach and a soundtrack that you can’t shake out of your head. You can sit back and let the ride do the work or, you can put all your energy into it for the benefit of all that you choose to ride with. Just be careful you don’t ride with someone who has motion sickness. They may not be keen on riding with you. Congrats TIB. You can smile a little wider now.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Might Puke at The Internet Bachelorette.

meta

