Undressing Success

March 30, 2011 § 1 Comment

Our dear Betty gets out of the kitchen. Enjoy the guest gal! Email me if you have a story to share! I’d be happy to help you share your tale, although the alias is up to you!

By: Betty in the Lime Light

I’ve recently been on the hunt for a career upgrade. And I mean hunting, not like Elmer Fud but more like a bloodhound out for damned elusive rabbits.  Although I’ve been fortunate to have a steady gig for the last 5 years, especially in this economy when many of my contemporaries are moving back in with their parents (the horror!), it is just a job. I lay awake at night dreaming of a real live career.  With that in mind, I have made “upgrade” my motto for 2011.

More than half of a potential employer’s first impression is based on how a person looks.  The remaining percentage of first impression is a mix of who you know and actual skill set.  i.e. If a woman goes into interview at a bank wearing booty shorts and tube top I can guarantee employment will not ensue.  If a straight man is the interviewer, he’ll just be thinking about bending her over his desk and if she’s even wearing panties.  If it’s a woman doing the interviewing, she will most likely be completely offended and avoid eye contact at all costs.  I’m sorry ladies, no one except your doctor or significant other needs to see the undefined, cottage cheese area between your butt and your hamstring unless you are at the beach.  In most cases, jeans are also not acceptable attire for an interview.  If you’d like to be taken seriously, dress the part. If you believe you’re ready to step into your dream career, put a little effort in. My thoughts: you have to look like money to make money.

Now I don’t mean money in the flashy sense, I mean “money” as in quality and elegance.  Friends of mine have a favorite interview outfit, a go-to confidence builder that makes them feel like a million bucks (or $89.99 depending on that season’s clearance).  As I set out to attain my dream career I realized I needed an “upgrade” somewhere in my wardrobe.  I’ve had the same black purse since senior year of high school so after some searching I upgraded to a camel colored leather Cole Haan satchel.  When I shop I always ask myself “Would Audrey Hepburn wear this?”  If you are looking to give yourself style, find a style icon and stay within those parameters.  A man can’t go wrong imitating Don Draper.  Trendy is not necessarily a good thing.  You can never go wrong with words like classic and timeless.

After the initial purchase of my lady-like dream-purse, spending money on myself didn’t make me feel as guilty as it normally does.  Retail therapy has never worked for me but I successfully convinced myself these were necessary essentials that would help me embrace my future with confidence.  So I skipped off to J. Crew and found some other Audrey-esque items to breathe life into my closet.

Sweater sets and pearls just happen to work for me but I understand it’s not for everyone.  Advice for the modern gal: dress in a way that will help you accomplish your intentions for that day.  And dear God, leave something to the imagination, whether you are looking to snag a job or a man, looking beautiful doesn’t mean having your tits and ass exposed. I’ve seen strippers wear more clothes than some of these hoochies on the strip for a Wednesday night dinner. If you aren’t on a stage, don’t dress in a way that would make your grandmother blush.

§ One Response to Undressing Success

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Undressing Success at The Internet Bachelorette.

meta

