On the Market

July 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

You know I love my girls! Here’s what happening with Betty in the Limelight

Dear readers, I am newly single having pulled the trigger on my relationship with the Sicilian Silver Fox.  As much as I love him, he’s got one too many problems to have a future.  I’m not one to make a mountain out of a molehill so I’ll take the new single status in stride.  I realize that from age 20 to 27 I have been in two long-term relationships, I am guilty of serial monogamy.  With that in mind I have decided that this time around I am going to learn to be single while still in my twenties.

At first I felt like I was in one of those anxiety dreams when you show up to work naked but that may be because a male co-worker actually called me “fresh meat”.  The dating experiment that I plan on chronicling is allowing my friends to play matchmaker.  If I can trust my friends to give me advice on everything from shoes to a gynecologist, why not trust their taste in who I should date?  While my gal pals are going through their iPhones trying to find whom they think would suit me, my fabulous queen of a colleague picked out one of the hot guys we work with as his choice of suitor.  Now I am not one to ever dip my proverbial pen in the company ink but going with my experiment of friends playing matchmaker I couldn’t refuse.

The Kentucky Stud, as we shall call him, is all sorts of manly hotness, a blue eyed, brown haired Raylan Givens type straight out of FX’s “Justified”.  To complete the package, he rides a motorcycle.  Now after my soft and cuddly Sicilian Silver Fox a 28 year old with washboard abs is almost too much to handle.  According to my boy-pal he’s been ogling me as a star-crossed lover for the last four years.  Needless to say, having missed out on the last time I was single while we worked together he went hook, line and sinker when he found out I was on the market.

We set up a day date for an art exhibit, fairly safe in my mind but with the added exhilaration of riding on the back of his motorcycle.  What I found beyond his googley-eyed admiration of me was a deep shyness, intelligent mind and more googely-eyed admirtation.  Certainly there is a physical attraction, he’s very handsome, but he lacks in the quick-witted conversation that truly turns me on.  The brain is the biggest erogenous zone and his shy personality keeps him from making the quips that would keep me laughing.  The Kentucky Stud did work up the courage to kiss me at the end of our date and although I found it shocking to kiss someone new, it was very nice, earnest and with lots of passionate tenderness on his side.

I am a lady that is truly attracted to personality so I have agreed to a second date with the Kentucky Stud with the hopes that nighttime and liberal libations will loosen him up enough to overcome his sweet Southern shyness.  Bourbon might magically turn him into a comedian, if not, there will be no third date.  Washboard abs will get pretty boring if he isn’t tickling my funny bone.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On the Market at The Internet Bachelorette.

meta

