Episode 106

May 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

Life of Walsh Episode: 106

It was only a couple weeks ago. Easter. I had packed up Mister Red and headed to Boston on the ultimatum that he must accompany me to see my grandmother or else. Making a trip of it, we decided to stay with friends and roam the city the day before.

We took the red-eye then a nap and after a sunny walk from the Common and through Copley we took advantage of the spring day and started drinking. Sangria to start, me and my HS pal split a pitcher while the boys tried varying micro brews couple blocks from The Green Monster. After seeing the famed stadium, we hopped a train to Quincy Market so Mister Red could get something cheesily touristy for his sister as requested. And a bathroom. We all needed one.

After getting a pin at Cheers we strolled down to the North End for dinner (or as Mister Red kept calling it, “The north side”). There we stopped at a friends’ house, split bottle of wine and picked up two more people. At dinner we put down two more bottles, and I’m sure there was a glass or two when we got home. 12 hours of drinking completed. Wino badge of honor.

The next day we were battling. I’d felt worse in my life so I trudged through. I just had to make it to dinner with my grandma. We were going to Legal Seafood. If you never been you have to know they make the clam chowder served at the white house. Presidential Soup. They have a seafood casserole that you want sing sweet nothings too. Needless to say, I was saving my appetite. I ate minimal breakfast and chugged red Gatorade to cure my hangover.

Now my parents had driven from Michigan to be in Boston as well and both of our pilgrimages were about to meet up with lobster. It was poetic. However, the drive was not. The greater Boston area has some of the windiest, narrowest roads of any city. Old horse trails to blame, I guess.

Now I normally get carsick sitting shotgun, sometimes even when I’m driving in heavy traffic. Add on sitting in the back seat, a seasoned Bostonian at the wheel, a slight hangover, and over a liter and a half of colored sugar drink… what do you think was happening?

My friend’s BF flipped a sudden bitch to let us all out in front of the restaurant. My father doing the same with his car and my mother helping my grandmother. The last maneuver made me woozy and I tried to make the world stop spinning. Now my grandmother’s eyesight has faded, she’s now legally blind, but sharp as a whip.

I stood there trying to contemplate if I should run inside and try to relieve myself in the bathroom of the seafood restaurant, but the though of soiling the sacred place was more than I could take so I took a few deep breaths.

Then I projectile vomited between two pillars. Red Gatorade, you did me wrong! My mother does nothing and gets my grandmother to the door. Minutes later she meets me in the bathroom. She asks me if I’m alright. Well, I’m better now! She just says, “But you think you can eat fish, right?” Yes, of course, that’s why I sat in a middle seat on a 5 hour red eye for. Then she tells me, “We’ve all decided not to tell your grandmother, she’s blind anyway. She’ll never know.” Well great. That’s one person I don’t have to feel embarrassed in front of.

After an amazing dinner, my nana rocked out with us until about 1:30am. I started nursing wine shortly after dinner and it turned into a fantastic time and the only thing that’s ruined was my perception of red Gatorade.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Episode 106 at The Internet Bachelorette.

meta

