Episode 111

July 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

The Life of Walsh Episode: 111

That’s my demographic.

So I’m getting back into the fitness industry, and so far so good. I’m already slated to begin teaching classes at a studio that’s expanding and I have an interview at another studio today AND I’m getting Pilates certified. Pretty good deal for someone who hasn’t taught any body any thing since 2006.

I taught in Boston to pay the bills as a college student and hopefully now I can teach to pay the bills as a writer. But something is seriously different between LA and Boston. In beantown I was teaching women in their 40s/50s who just needed to get their heart rate up and maybe lift a pound or two. I loved these ladies, and I had my regulars. These gals really got my humor, middle aged women are really my demographic.

Now I’m teaching at this studio near the beach, a nice beach, with rich people. These ladies are great… but they are much younger and quicker and have more time on their hands than the Boston chicks. I’m in a constant state of fear that they didn’t feel the burn… because they are part time body builders. Some of them get their guns from lifting jewelry alone. I find myself inventing new types of pain instead of new jokes. It’s probably just a learning curve.

Still I miss the laughs from my middle aged gals. Maybe I should just do stand up at Tupperware and Thirty-one Parties instead.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Episode 111 at The Internet Bachelorette.

meta

