Episode 112

August 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

The Life of Walsh Episode: 112

Karma points.

The other day I was taking my trash down. I don’t have a chute or anything, it’s kinda of a walk down to the parking garage and then dealing with an icky door. None the less, as I was walking mine down and my neighbor had their trash waiting out by their door. Mind you, I live in LA, therefore I do not know my neighbors, in fact I’ve lived there for a year and have never even met them. To demonstrate this one step further, at a different unit in the building new tenets moved in. Mister Red went down with a welcoming bottle of wine and practically got the door slammed in his face. After I heard that, I was through being neighborly.

But back to the other neighbor’s trash. I thought for a moment and decided to earn some karma points by picking up their trash on my way. So yes, a good deed for selfish reasons. Then, the next time I leave the house I see they’ve left a note on their door. It says: Dear Neighbor, thank you for taking my trash out, that was a good deed and I appreciate it.

So they decided to spend the minute of time that I saved them to print out and write me a note. Which I thought was really nice, until I thought about it taking away my karma points. I felt like I was a vigilante and someone just unmasked me. Almost like me thunder was robbed. My random act was suddenly not so random. So who gets the karma points? Me or my neighbor?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Episode 112 at The Internet Bachelorette.

meta

