The Decision

March 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

cool-corgiThere comes a time when we use our adult tendencies to decide what we are going to do next with our lives as human females. I guess males do this too, but sometimes I have trouble relating to them. I think it’s because I think penises are like built-in compasses and I don’t have one of those, so I have to think harder when I make a decision. Anyway, onward with my thought…

I made a decision about 3 years ago to start this blog in an effort to spew my ideas about the modern woman dating in the digital age. Mid 20s, single, fancy free (actually, not fancy at all, I ate Top Raman 5 nights a week), I was really disconnected with adult life. Shortly after I began to document my electronic conquests of love, or lack there of, I met Mister Red. Way to ruin the future memoirs of a single lady.

I kept things at bay, believing that I simply had a summer boyfriend and washing my hands of any serious feelings. This backfired. I got distracted, fell in love, then I was terrified. Still terrified actually. Apparently I’m a bit skittish when it comes to romantic feelings. No sudden moves please.

Anyway, I played a little make-beleive and kept the readers about 6 months behind the progression of our actual relationship. Partly because I was taking vigorous notes while living through the discovery of “the one” and the other half was that Mister Red took some time to warm up to being my muse. He got so sensitive when I referenced his shirtless midnight snacking.

Today, I feel our relationship has matured to that fine tune of going to bed early and catching up on television we missed during the years we didn’t have cable. It’s a daily grind of, “is this what it’s going to be like when we’re married?” Yeah, probably. Fantastic, because we can unload a dishwasher in under 60 seconds.

love5_1024x768I believe my bachelorette days are numbered, and I’ll save my crippling anxiety and silent freak outs about it for another time. Right now I’m doing what everyone with a blog and limited readers should do, I’m writing a manuscript. Hopefully some day it will turn into a book (actually it will, if no one publishes it, I’ll do it myself and all 6 of you can have a copy).

Over the next few weeks I’m going to be putting together the story of Mister Red and how he accidentally became Mister Right. After I’m finished I’m going to take this blog down. Don’t worry, I’ll start a new one as a more mature Smarty Snatch and let you know what and where it is.

In the meantime, as I clean out this blog, there will be many many posts that will not make the cut and I’ll repost them here on Tuesdays.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Decision at The Internet Bachelorette.

meta

